Belturbet bypass

Don’t it always seem to go
That you don’t know what you’ve got
Till it’s gone.
They paved paradise
And put up a parking lot Joni Mitchellputtigan bog belturbet

I had never been to Puttigan bog until recently and the only reason I could get in was that work has started on the new bypass so the machinery had been in and opened it up. Previously the edge was dense with birch scrub and bog holes and slow to travel through.

So I was looking  special bog plants like bladderwort  and tway-blades. I managed to watch a dragonfly eat a butterfly.

bladderwort

The planning and arguments are over I assume. There is to be bridge over Aughnaguig bog because it is designated, but I guess my tway-blades and bladderwort may  be gone (even as I write) from Puttigan bog. I suppose dug out by diggers and dumped unceremoniously to one side. Must go back and take a look .

tway blade in belturbet

The trouble with bogs here in Co. Cavan that they are all very small lying in the inter – drumlin hollows and so very vulnerable to damage in a small piecemeal  way. The sum total of all the damage is of course great.

tway blade flower

puttigan bog flower twayblade

 

About bluedamseldiscovery

.Take time to look , listen, even scent what is on the wind.
This entry was posted in bogland, cavan, dragonfly, wetland and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Belturbet bypass

  1. aislingblackburn says:

    Hi Heather, the blog is a lovely read. I really enjoyed the pictures of the wild flowers.

Leave a Reply

